Something like love

Ori Gersht: Just like a foggy memory…

Posted in Fine Art, Photography by linhdy on January 24, 2010

When I first saw Ori Gersht’s work on the Mummery + Schnelle’s website, her photos were displayed so small that I brushed them aside as uninteresting. But when I accidentally enlarged one, I was amazed!

His landscapes remind me of a less expansive Albert Bierstadt painting– but more foreboding; strange is about to happen. Some scenes are airy, hard to see– they make me strain my eyes. But when I see, I’ll admit I am amazed. It’s worth the effort. The images are romantic tinged with possibility, mystery, and fantasy. In his painterly photographs, a strange tension hangs in the air. And for me, that’s all the more reasons to keep looking; the longer I look, the more I see.

Fade to Light, Ori Gersht (2009)

Fade to Light, Ori Gersht (2009)

Hide and Seek: Swamp, Ori Gersht, 2009

Hide and Seek: Swamp, Ori Gersht, 2009

Hide and Seek: Boatman, Ori Gersht (2009)

Hide and Seek: Boatman, Ori Gersht (2009)

Falling Bird, Untitled No. 1, Ori Gersht (2009)

Falling Bird, Untitled No. 1, Ori Gersht (2009)

Falling Bird, Untitled No. 8, Ori Gersht (2008)

Falling Bird, Untitled No. 8, Ori Gersht (2008)


(Doesn’t the above one remind you of a Marilyn Minter photo or painting?)

More on Gersht at the Smithsonian.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

